Friday, January 11, 2019

SPOTLIGHT - HISTORICAL MYSTERY - A Murder By Any Name by Suzanne M. Wolfe

A Murder By Any Name
by Suzanne M. Wolfe
Publication Date: October 9th 2018
Crooked Lane Books
Hardcover & eBook; 326 Pages
Genre: Historical Mystery

BLURB
When a brutal murder threatens the sanctity of the Elizabethan court, it’s up to a hot-tempered spy to save the day. The court of Elizabeth I is no stranger to plotting and intrigue, but the royal retinue is thrown into chaos when the Queen’s youngest and sweetest lady-in-waiting is murdered, her body left on the high altar of the Chapel Royal in Whitehall Palace. Solving the murder will require the cunning and savvy possessed by only one man. Enter Nicholas Holt, younger brother of the Earl of Blackwell—spy, rake, and owner of the infamous Black Sheep tavern in the seedy district of Bankside. Nick quickly learns that working for the Queen is a mixed blessing. Elizabeth—salty-tongued, vain, and fiercely intelligent—can, with a glance, either reward Nick with a purse of gold or have his head forcibly removed. When a second lady-in-waiting is slain at Whitehall, the court once again reels with shock and dismay. On the trail of a diabolical killer, Nick and his faithful sidekick—an enormous Irish Wolfhound named Hector—are treading on treacherous ground, and only the killer’s head on a platter can keep them in the Queen’s good graces.

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million | Chapters | IndieBound | Kobo

Praise for A Murder By Any Name

“Captivating… Fans of Fiona Buckley’s Ursula Blanchard and Kathy Lynn Emerson’s Rosamond Jaffrey will be delighted to add Wolfe to their reading lists.” ―Booklist 



“[A] promising series launch… Fans of Elizabethan historicals will be satisfied.” ―Publishers Weekly “An excellent series kickoff by Wolfe that cleverly highlights both the mystery and the many ills of Elizabethan times.” ―Kirkus Reviews 



“In vivid passages, Suzanne Wolfe’s novel brings to the reader the light and dark of Elizabethan England, its squalor and splendor, filth and riches, intrigues and delights.” ―NY Journal of Books 



“A deeply atmospheric and richly textured Elizabethan mystery... I was captivated by Nicholas and Hector as they navigated court treachery and the dark recesses of the lower classes in this compelling Elizabethan mystery.” ―Shelley Freydont, New York Times bestselling author 



"Wolfe’s descriptions are unparalleled, immersing the reader in the time period as they join her wily protagonist on his quest to catch a cold-hearted killer.” ―Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries 



"I stayed up reading much too late to finish this book! Wonderful Elizabethan atmosphere, well-drawn and unusual characters, action and intrigue and excitement―I felt like I was in the 1570s" ―Amanda Carmack, award-winning author of the Elizabethan mysteries 



“Bewitching! Suzanne Wolfe opens the door to Elizabethan life through her masterful creation of the sympathetic spy, Nicholas Holt. An exciting start to a promising new historical mystery series.” ―Naomi Hirahara, Edgar Award-winning author of the Mas Arai series 



“A classically plotted whodunit set against the background of Elizabethan London and the court of Queen Elizabeth the First, both of them well researched and vividly realized, with a wealth of detail. One can almost smell the reek of the 16th century streets and waterways.” ―Fiona Buckley, author of the Ursula Blanchard Elizabethan mysteries








Author Info
Suzanne M. Wolfe grew up in Manchester, England and read English Literature at Oxford University, where she co-founded the Oxford C.S. Lewis Society. She served as Writer in Residence at Seattle Pacific University and taught literature and creative writing there for nearly two decades. Wolfe is the author of three novels: A Murder by Any Name, The Confessions of X, and Unveiling. Thirty years ago, she and her husband, Gregory Wolfe, co-founded Image, a journal of the arts and faith. They have also co-authored many books on literature and prayer including Books That Build Character: How to Teach Your Child Moral Values Through Stories, and Bless This House: Prayers For Children and Families. Her essays and blog posts have appeared in Image and other publications. She and her husband are the parents of four grown children. They live in Richmond Beach, Washington. 


Giveaway
During the Blog Tour we will be giving away 3 hardcover copies of A Murder By Any Name! To enter, please use the Gleam form 

Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on January 17th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Giveaway is open to US residents only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen. 

Hosted by
Presented by

Blog Tour Schedule
Monday, December 17 Review at Passages to the Past 
Tuesday, December 18 Excerpt at Let Them Read Books 
Wednesday, December 19 Review at Pursuing Stacie Guest Post at Jathan & Heather 
Thursday, December 20 Feature at The Lit Bitch Review at Peppermint Ph.D. 
Friday, December 21 Feature at What Is That Book About 
Sunday, December 23 Review at Carole's Ramblings 
Thursday, December 27 Review & Interview at Jorie Loves a Story
Friday, December 28 Review at Tar Heel Reader Review at Amy's Booket List
Monday, December 31 Review at Tudor Enthusiast 
Wednesday, January 2 Excerpt at Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen 
Thursday, January 3 Excerpt at T's Stuff Guest Post at Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots 
Friday, January 4 Review at 100 Pages a Day 
Monday, January 7 Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit 
Tuesday, January 8 Guest Post at On the Tudor Trail
Wednesday, January 9 Review at Reading the Past 
Thursday, January 10 Review at Broken Teepee Review at Clarissa Reads it All 
Friday, January 11 Feature at The Book Junkie Reads Feature at View from the Birdhouse 
Monday, January 14 Review at Maiden of the Pages 
Tuesday, January 15 Interview at Passages to the Past 
Wednesday, January 16 Review at A Book Geek
Thursday, January 17 Review at Coffee and Ink Review at CelticLady's Reviews